Instructions on How to Apply for a Marriage License

Marriage License Requirements for the Probate Court of Greenville County

marriageringsMarriage License Division
301 University Ridge #5600
Greenville, SC 29601
864.467.7571
Probate Judge Debora A. Faulkner
Associate Probate Judge Edward M. Sauvain
www.greenvillecounty.org/probate
8:30a.m to 4:30p.m
Monday thru Friday

Both parties MUST appear to file an application for
marriage license.
Cash, credit card (visa or mastercard only) filing
fee for the application.
This fee must be paid before the application can be filed. All applicants must have identification (photo ID) and Social Security card or may use another legal document containing their Social Security number, such as income tax record.
Resident aliens who do not have a Social Security card will be required to present their
resident alien card or a statement from the Social Security Office that you do not qualify
for a Social Security number.

Applicants under Age 18: Applicants age 16-17, may obtain a marriage license upon presenting additional information as following:
 Certified copy of birth certificate
 Parent’s consent
 State issued I.D. (If parents are divorced, the parent with custody must give the consent
and produce a certified copy of their divorce decree to prove custody.)

There is a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period in South Carolina from the time you apply for the license until the time the license can be issued.
After the waiting period has expired, you may return to pick up the license (only one party) or we can return the license to you by mail. The request to mail the license must be made at the time of application.

For certified copy of a marriage license from the years 1971 to 1985 will need to be
requested by mail.

For certified copy of a marriage license from the years 1911 to 1970 and 1986 to present
can be requested in person or by mail.

Marriage License records are open for Public viewing.

Fees:
Marriage License $35.00
Marriage License Correction $6.75
Marriage License Folder –keepsake $1.00
Marriage License Re-issuance $6.75
Certified Copy (plus copy charges) $5.25
Research Fee $5.00
Photo Copy $.25per page

Ceremony:
Once Marriage License is issued a marriage, ceremony is required in South Carolina. This
license is not valid for marriages outside of South Carolina.

Probate Court Judge and Staff do not perform marriage ceremonies.

South Carolina Code of Law: 20-1-20. Persons who may perform marriage ceremony.

“Only ministers of the Gospel, Jewish rabbi, and officers authorized to administer oaths
in this State, and the chief or spiritual leader of a Native American Indian entity
recognized by the South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs pursuant to Section 1-31-40 are authorized to administer a marriage ceremony in this State.”

One thought on “Instructions on How to Apply for a Marriage License

  1. Pingback: Notary Blog Post: Late-Night Marriage Ceremony, Part Deux | Headquarters ~

Comments are closed.